Industry News

Canada Invited to Join TPP Negotiations
June 19, 2012

On June 19, 2012, President Obama announced that the United States and the eight other countries negotiating the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Agreement have extended an invitation to Canada to join the TPP negotiations, pending successful conclusion of their domestic procedures. The announcement follows one day after the Administration revealed that Mexico was invited to join the TPP negotiations. Since expressing interest in joining the TPP negotiations last November, Canadian and Mexican Officials have held bilateral meetings with the current TPP participants to discuss issues of concern to each nation. The seven current TPP countries are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States, and Vietnam.

According to the Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR), the Administration will notify Congress of its intent to include Mexico and Canada in the TPP negotiations shortly. The notification will trigger a 90-day consultation period with Congress on U.S. negotiating objectives with respect to Mexico and Canada. The USTR will also publish a notice in the Federal Register seeking public comments.

The 13th round of TPP negotiations is scheduled to take place July 2-10 in San Diego, California.

For further information, please continue to visit, or contact a Barnes/Richardson attorney.

Sign up for Daily Report

Just enter your Email below and sign up to get our Daily reports