Industry News

Williamson Named ITC Chairman
June 27, 2012

President Obama has designated Irving A. Williamson as Chairman of the International Trade Commission (ITC) for the term of June 17, 2012, through June 16, 2014. Williamson previously served as Vice Chairman for the term ending June 16, 2012.  Williamson was nominated to the ITC by President Bush on September 7, 2006, and renominated on January 9, 2007. He was sworn in as a Commission member on February 7, 2007, for a term expiring on June 16, 2014.

Prior to serving on the ITC, Williamson spent seven years as President of Williamson International Trade Strategies, Inc., a business and international trade consulting firm. Early in his career, Williamson spent 18 years as a Foreign Service Officer with the U.S. State Department. From 1985 to 1993, he was the manager of trade policy for the Port Authority of New York. From 1993 to 1998, Williamson served as Deputy General Counsel in the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR). His role at the USTR included serving as chairman of the interagency Section 301 Committee. Additionally, during his time at the USTR, Williamson spent seven months serving as acting general counsel. Following his time at the USTR, Williamson became Vice President for Trade, Investment, and Economic Development Programs at the Africa-America Institute in New York.

The International Trade Commission consists of six Commissioners, including three Democrats and three Republicans, who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate for nine-year terms. The Chairman and Vice Chairman are designated by the President to serve two-year terms. The Chairman and Vice Chairman must be from different political parties, and the Chairmanship rotates between parties every two years.

Sign up for Daily Report

Just enter your Email below and sign up to get our Daily reports