Industry News

U.S. Releases Names of First Individuals Added to Magnitsky List
April 16, 2013

On April 12, 2013, the U.S. Department of the Treasury added 18 Russians to the Specially Designated Nationals list (SDN) under the Magnitsky Act.  The Act, which was signed into law last December, sanctions individuals associated with the abuse and death of Russian lawyer Sergei Magnitsky, as well as Russians linked to other human rights abuses.  Once placed on the Magnitsky List, individuals cannot maintain or procure U.S. visas, and the U.S. government will block all property and transactions of listed persons within its jurisdiction.  The full list of names can be found here.

For more information, please continue to check or contact a Barnes/Richardson attorney.

Sign up for Daily Report

Just enter your Email below and sign up to get our Daily reports